MAGIRT CCC Task Force on Linking Fields for Detached Maps

MAGIRT Cataloging and Classification Committee Charge

Date: September 6, 2017

Name: MAGIRT CCC Task Force on Linking Fields for Detached Maps

Members: Nancy Kandoian, Chair, Catherine Hodge, Tim Kiser, Maggie Long, Iris Taylor

Description of Responsibilities: The MAGIRT CCC Task Force on Linking Fields for Detached Maps was formed after the American Library Association Annual Conference in Chicago to decide on recommended best practices for MARC linking field to use for source document of maps that have been detached from identifiable larger works. The Task Force will report findings to the Cataloging and Classification Committee.

The MAGIRT CCC Task Force on Linking Field's charge is listed below (though the list is not to be considered exhaustive):

- Explore the various methods used by map catalogers to record information about and provide links to source documents of maps detached from identifiable larger works;
- Examine MARC and OCLC documentation for existing fields available to provide that information and make those links;
- Develop a recommended practice for map catalogers to follow to promote consistency in providing this information, for clear description and identification of maps, in the common situation of their separation from source documents
- Propose language incorporating recommended practice into "Best Practices for Cataloging Cartographic Resources using RDA," the MAGIRT CCC document being shepherded by Susan Moore.

Preliminary report submission via email: Wednesday, November 15, 2017. Continue to solicit comments from CCC members. Encourage review by OCLC staff including Robert Bremer, Laura Ramsey, and Jay Weitz, whom we consulted in June 2017 CCC meeting.

Final Report Submission: Cataloging and Classification Committee meeting at ALA Midwinter Meeting in Denver Colorado, February 2018

Minutes: Minutes or meeting notes are to be kept and promptly distributed following each Task Force meeting to all committee members and the chair of the CCC, and shared with MAGIRT Executive Board members.